A Region Connected

Serving Buchanan, Dickenson, Russell, and Tazewell Counties in Virginia

The Cumberland Plateau Planning District Commission, or PDC, is one of Virginia’s 21 planning district commissions, and was created in 1968 to promote regional cooperation, help coordinate the activities and policies of member local governments, and provide planning assistance to local governments in all their activities apon their request.

Our Region

Cumberland Plateau in southwestern Virginia includes the counties of Russell, Dickenson, Buchanan and Tazewell. The region borders Kentucky on the west and West Virginia on the north. This rugged and beautiful mountainous area contains spectacular scenery and unique natural habitats of national and statewide significance. Inhabitants and visitors to the area enjoy a variety of natural resource-based recreational opportunities along with several parks and forest recreation areas.